Ministry of Public Bldgs & Wks

With many thanks to Brian Davies for this information (see comments below) - This covers both 

Area Office Ministry of Public Bldgs & Wks  - The Area Office MPBW level of responsibility covered all Berlin British Sector Districts;  The Depot Office (East) was responsible to the Area Office for: Charlottenburg, Wilmersdorf, and Tiergarten Districts, providing repairs and maintenance and minor new works.  Depot Office (East) handover notes of May 1966 from B.Davies to H Stalley records the area as follows:

Officer Married Quarters - 191
OR's Quarters and flats - 449

Special Buildings:
1. British Consul General
2. Greek Military Mission
3. Canadian Military Mission
4. Australian Military Mission
5. Netherlands Military Mission
6. B.F.E.S Mess
7. BSSO Civilian Officers Mess
8. Edinburgh House Hotel
9. Churchill House (80 flats)
10. British Officers Club
11. BFES School
12. NAAFI Summit House, AKC and PCLU
13. NAAFI Hostel
14. Allied Kommandantura
15. Red Shield Club
16. St. George's Church
17. Parish Hall
18. RTO Charlottenburg Station

Military Installations:

19. H.Q. Olympia Stadium
20. Rhuleben Ranges
21. British Military Cemetary
22. Tiergarten Camp and Police Post

Depot Office (East) Ministry of Public Bldgs & Wks - The Ministry of Works was a department of the UK Government formed in 1943, during World War II, to organise the requisitioning of property for wartime use. After the war, the Ministry retained responsibility for Government building projects.

In 1962 it was renamed the Ministry of Public Building and Works, and acquired the extra responsibility of monitoring the building industry as well as taking over the works departments from the War Office, Air Ministry and Admiralty. The Chief Architect of the Ministry from 1951 to 1970 was Eric Bedford. In 1970 the Ministry was absorbed into the Department of the Environment, although from 1972 most former Works functions were transferred to the largely autonomous Property Services Agency. Subsequent reorganisation of PSA into Property Holdings was followed by abolition in 1996 when individual Government departments took on responsibility for managing their own estate portfolios.